3 November 2011 –Victoria has revamped its urban planning authority with a change of name to Places Victoria and the appointment of acting chief executive Sam Sangster to the role on a permanent basis.

The Victorian Government yesterday launched the new profile of the authority after last week announcing a new board chaired by former Melbourne City councilor Peter Clarke.

Deputy chairperson is Ken Fehily and other board directors are are William Bowness, Lorna Gelbert, Judith Nicholson, Graeme Parton, Timothy Shannon, Janet West and Professor John Stanley.

  • Pictured is Sam Sangster, far right, with (left to right) Deal Corporation managing director David Kobritz, Northern Metropolitan Liberal MP Craig Ondarchie, Planning Minister Matthew Guy, Darebin Mayor Diana Asmar and VicUrban acting chief Sam Sangster at the Larundel development site.(From Diamond Valley Leader)

Victorian Planning Minister Matthew Guy said the moves are the fulfilment of a promise to place urban renewal at the forefront of managing Melbourne and Victoria’s future growth.

“Places Victoria will be at the forefront of delivering urban renewal across Victoria, but not just through new buildings but also through place making,” Mr Guy said.

“It is essential we strive to improve liveability and continue a focus on building sustainable new communities which is what Places Victoria’s mandate is.

Mr Guy said the authority would complete the delivery of Docklands, start planning the new Fisherman’s Bend urban renewal precinct and focus on strategic renewal sites across Victoria such as central Wodonga.

“The focus of Victoria’s new pre-eminent urban renewal authority on liveability and place making is an important step in ensuring Melbourne and Victoria is liveable and sustainable for the long term,” Mr Guy said.