Sydney Theatre Company artistic directors, Andrew Upton and Cate Blanchett

28 July 2010 – The Sydney Theatre Company has claimed the highest honour at this year’s Green Globe Wards, with Investa Property Group winning the Commercial Property Sustainability Award.

Sydney Theatre Company directors, actress Cate Blanchett and husband Andrew Upton received the Premier’s Award for Sustainability Excellence for the Sydney Theatre Company’s “Greening the Wharf” program – an initiative that introduces rainwater harvesting and solar power to the theatre located on Sydney’s Pier 4.

Investa claimed the highest honour in the Commercial Property Sustainability category for showing market leadership through their “Eco Space” initiative and Green Lease revisions. The group has also developed a 13 module sustainability diploma to educate staff about how their jobs contribute to the organisation’s sustainability objectives, with more than a third of Investa staff having completed the diploma.

The Highly Commended for Commercial Property Sustainability award went to The GPT Group.

The full list of award recipients include:

Excellence awards

  • Premier’s Award for Sustainability Excellence – Sydney Theatre Company: Greening the Wharf
  • Climate Change Leadership Award – AGL Energy

Business sector awards

  • Business Water Award – Caroma Industries Limited
  • Business Sustainability Award – AGL Energy
  • Commercial Property Sustainability Award – Investa Property Group
  • Small Business Sustainability Award – Instyle Contract Textiles

Public sector awards

  • Public Sector Energy Award – Sydney Water – Energy Management and Renewable Energy Generation
  • Public Sector Sustainability Award – Macquarie University – People, Planet and Participation
  • Local Government Sustainability Award Joint Winners:
  • Our River – Cooks River Sustainability Initiative
  • Surry Hills Library and Community Centre

Individual, community and media awards

  • Community Sustainability Award – Sydney Theatre Company: Greening the Wharf
  • Sustainability Champion Award – Deepanjali Gupta
  • Media Excellence in Sustainability Communication Award – The Republic of Everyone (The Garage Sale Trail)

10 year Sustainability Achievement Certificates

The following organisations were honoured at the 2010 Green Globe Awards for their continued commitment to sustainability from 2000 until 2010:

  • AstraZeneca
  • Canon Australia
  • Castle Hill RSL
  • City of Sydney
  • Coffs Ex Services Memorial and Sporting Club
  • Toyota Motoring Corporation
  • University of New England

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.