BVN principal Abbie Galvin is the new NSW Government Architect

BVN principal Abbie Galvin is the new NSW Government Architect – marking the first time a woman has held the position since it was created more than 200 years ago.

She replaces Peter Poulet who’s been appointed as the new Central City District Commissioner for the Greater Sydney Commission and in August was named Professor of Architecture at Western Sydney University.

Ms Galvin has more than 25 years’ experience working across workplace, commercial, masterplanning, defence, research, education and health.

She’s worked on a number of high profile projects in Australia and in Hong Kong as a principal and director of BVN, such as The Braggs at the University of Adelaide, Royal North Shore Hospital in North Sydney and the Monash University Student Housing in Melbourne.

“The Government Architect has been one of the state’s most prestigious roles since it was established in 1816 to shape cities, towns and communities right across the state,” Planning and Public Spaces Minister Rob Stokes said when announcing the appointment on Tuesday.

The Department of the Environment and Energy’s secretary, Finn Pratt, has announced his retirement.

His public service career has spanned 36 years, with energy, environment and climate change policy, including building Australia’s Antarctic capabilities, his most recent contribution to domestic policy.

He’s also contributed to reforms in employment services, industrial relations, the National Disability Insurance Scheme, aged care and more.

Mr Pratt was awarded a Public Service Medal in 2008 and in 2015 became an Officer of the Order of Australia.

The Environment Department has also lost its CFO, Robert Hanlon, who moved to the Department of Industry, Innovation & Science. Rowan Lang is now acting CFO at the department.

Arcadis has hired Anthony Lusher as principal environmental consultant within the Environment & Waste team.

He’s most recently worked at Lendlease on one of NSW’s largest infrastructure projects, WestConnex Stage 3A M4-M5 Link Mainline Tunnels.

He joins Arcadis with over 10 years’ experience across environmental research, environmental assessment and approvals, environmental management and compliance.

Dr Don Russell has been appointed as the new independent chair of AustralianSuper. He’s taken over from Heather Ridout who has been chair since 2013.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.