Professor Deo Prasad

Brief: The Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living accepted the Leadership in Sustainability award at the 2019 Australian Institute of Architects National Prize last week, 22 June.

The CRC for LCL and its CEO, scientia professor Deo Prasad AO, were recognised for ongoing policy work, including proposed revisions to the building sustainability index, and collective advocacy work.

“The Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living has been one of Australia’s pivotal research and innovation hubs,” said the jury citation, “in a reasonably short time [it] has touched a large number of those in the built environment in a positive way.”

The jury consisted of James Legge FRAIA, director at Six Degrees, Jennie Officer RAIA, director at Woods Architects, Stephen Choi RAIA, executive director at Living Future Institute of Australia, abd Isabelle Toland director at Aileen Sage Architects.

The 2019 National Prize was part of the National Architecture Conference, held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre in Victoria.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.