Mirvac's 8 Chifley Square

Two Sydney office buildings have snagged the sustainability awards at the Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards.

Mirvac’s 8 Chifley in Sydney CBD won the Best Sustainable Development – New Buildings award while the redevelopment of Australia Post’s Strawberry Hills headquarters won the Best Sustainable Development – Existing Buildings award.

8 Chifley, which also took out the major Australian Development of the Year and the Best Office Development awards, has 6 Star Green Star Office Design and As Built v2 ratings and is targeting a 5 star NABERS Energy ratings. This is expected to lead to emissions 75 per cent less than a typical CBD office building.

Sustainability features include a trigeneration system, T5 lighting, active and passive sun shading, chilled beam airconditioning and natural ventilation, advanced blackwater treatment and water recycling, and building monitoring systems.

Managing director of RLB NSW Matthew Harris said the judges were impressed by Mirvac’s commitment to creating something efficient and elegant.

“Australia has an international reputation for delivering smart, sustainable office buildings, and we applaud Mirvac for setting future workplace trends both nationally and globally,” Mr Harris said.

PCA chief executive Ken Morrison said the building provided tenants with “workspaces that are as spectacular as they are sustainable”.

Australia Post’s Sydney HQ StarTrack House

Australia Post’s StarTrack House redevelopment led to 5 Star Green Star Office Design v3, Office As Built v3 and Office Interiors v1.1 ratings, and a NABERS rating boost from two to five stars.

“This renovation demonstrates the potential of older buildings to meet contemporary best practice standards. Australia Post’s team transformed a tired office asset into a modern, efficient, attractive space which meets the needs of today’s workers,” Mr Morrison said.

Mr Harris said the upgrade aligned with “Australia Post’s carbon reduction strategy, demonstrates corporate social responsibility while providing a better workplace for staff.”

All winners were:

Rider Levett Bucknall Australian Development of the Year: 8 Chifley, Mirvac Group, NSW

BHC Award for Best Affordable Housing Development: Ergo – Stage 1, Adelaide City Council, SA

LJ Hooker Commercial Award for Best Business or Industrial Park: Quarry at Greystane, DEXUS Property Group, NSW

SAS International Award for Best Office Development: 8 Chifley, Mirvac Group, NSW

Gough Recruitment Award for Best Residential Development: VSQ North, Meriton Group, NSW

GHD Woodhead Award for Best Mixed Use Development: Highett Mixed Use Development, Fabcot Pty Ltd, VIC

Yardi Award for Best Shopping Centre Development: Highpoint, Highpoint Property Group, GPT Wholesale Shopping Centre Fund & The GPT Group, VIC

Brain & Poulter Award for Best Tourism and Leisure Development: The Adelaide Oval Redevelopment, Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure, SA

du Chateau Chun Award for Future Leader of the Year: Matthew Berg, VIC

ISPT Award for Government Leadership: Northshore – Mixed-use Urban Renewal, QLD

S4B Studio Award for Best Heritage Development: Brisbane City Hall Restoration, Brisbane City Council, QLD

Lend Lease Award for Best Retirement Living Development: Monash Green Retirement Village, Goodwin Aged Care Services Limited, ACT

Eagle Lighting Australia Award for Best Master Planned Community: Highlands, Stockland, VIC

Woods Bagot Award for Best Public Building: Perth Arena, VenuesWest, WA

WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff Award for Best Sustainable Development – New Buildings: 8 Chifley, Mirvac Group, NSW

Project Control Group Award for Best Workplace Project: MYOB Melbourne Headquarters, MYOB, VIC

JLL Award for Best Sustainable Development – Existing Buildings: Australia Post Strawberry Hills Base Building Refurbishment, Australia Post, NSW

KONE Award for Innovation: Prefabrication Resets Construction Standard at Barangaroo, NSW

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.