Professor Ross Garnaut

This year’s Queens Birthday Honours list saw some familiar names from design, sustainability, and engineering recognised with Order of Australia awards.

One of the top awards – Companion of the Order of Australia – was given to Professor Ross Garnaut for his work as an economist in the areas of energy efficiency and climate change policy.

Ashak Nathwani

Melbourne’s lord mayor, Robert Doyle, also earned an AC for his service to the people of Melbourne. He is also familiar with The Fifth Estate readers as a staunch advocate for urban sustainability, tackling climate change and as an outspoken critic of “dog box” apartments being built in the city.

Awards of Member in the General Division [AM] included Sydney Uni’s director of sustainable design and former NDY director, Ashak Nathwani. The Uganda-born engineer was recognised for his service to the Ismaili community in Australia, to engineering and to tertiary education in the area of sustainable design.

South Australian Christopher Selwood was awarded an AM for services to science and technology, particularly through the

Dianna Firth

development and promotion of solar vehicles, and UNSW’s Professor Stephen Joseph an AM for services to science through research and developments in renewable energy and biochar engineering.

Former Clayton Utz partner Ian Clifton Carroll received an AM for significant service to conservation, particularly through management of the built, cultural and natural heritage sector.

UTS’ Professor John Blair Sheehan, past president of the Property Institute of Australia, was awarded an AM also, for significant service to the real estate and property planning sectors, to professional institutes, and to educational and legal bodies.

One of the founders of Ashton Raggat McDougall [now ARM Architecture], the late Stephen Ashton was posthumously awarded an AM for significant service to architecture through management and design roles, to professional organisations, and to motor sport.

Three architects were among those receiving a Medal of the Order of Australia [OAM].

Karl Fender, partner in Fender Katsalidis, and former national president of the Australian Institute of Architects; Queensland architect and former chairman of Peddle Thorpe, Peter Harvey; and former senior director of Di Carlo Potts and Associates, Neville Potts, were all recognised for services to architecture.

Chair of the Australian Design Alliance and interior designer, Geoffrey Fitzpatrick, was also awarded an OAM for service to industrial and interior design.

Landscape architect Dianne Firth, adjunct associate professor of landscape architecture at the University of Canberra’s Faculty of Arts and Design was recognised for services to landscape architecture and education.

And the first ever female chairman of Engineers Australia Victoria chapter, Madeleine McManus, was awarded an OAM for services to engineering and education. Ms McManus is a board member of Monash University’s Engineering Foundation and also a board member of the Centre for Engineering Leadership and Management.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.