Marie Byles Award winners Colong
NCC Deputy Chair Gabrielle Appleby, Elizabeth Farrelly, Jim Morrison, Harry Burkitt, Keith Muir and Janine Kits

IN BRIEF: The Colong Wild Rivers campaign to save 65 kilometres of World Heritage listed wild rivers from the proposed raising of Warragamba Dam wall has won the 2018 NSW Environment Awards community action prize.

This award the most inspiring community action initiative (the Marie Byles Award) went to campaigner Harry Burkitt for the Colong Foundation for Wilderness’s Wild Rivers Campaign, which was set up in March this year.

The individual conservation award went to Dr Emma Carmody for her work with Environmental Defenders Office NSW, and the young environmentalist award went to Repower volunteer Nicola Groskops.

Other award winners include Jason Wu and Carrie Tsai (Ziggy Megne Volunteer Award for longstanding service), Dailan Pugh (Alan Strom Hall of Fame Award for untiring dedication to conservation and environmental education) and Climate Change Balmain Rozelle (NCC Member Group Award for a group that has demonstrated an outstanding success in conservation).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.