8 November 2012 — Australia’s National Sustainability Council has met for the first time – and committed to providing the public with reliable and easily accessible information and giving robust, independent advice to the government. Council members, and a set of sustainability indicators for Australia, were announced by the Minister for Sustainability Tony Burke on 23 October 2012. Chair is Professor John Thwaites with members Rod Glover, Dr Tom Hatton, Professor Graeme Hugo, Mark Joiner, Romilly Madew, Sam Mostyn and Professor Sue Richardson. The council, in a media release dated 7 November, noted that sustainability was a broad concept covering a range of issues and encompassing concepts of wellbeing, the balance between natural, social and economic resources, and intergenerational equity.