12 July 2012 – The Noarlunga GP Plus Superclinic, by Cheesman Architects and STH Architects in Association, has won the Sustainable Architecture Award at this year’s South Australian Architecture Awards

The jury citation described the former site of the clinic as “an urban context comprising of dated specialty retail buildings and old low rise health care buildings dotted in a large sea of car parking”.

“The new Noarlunga GP Superclinic effectively makes a local landmark architectural statement in both colour and in its bold non-rectilinear form and airy internal spaces, not usually associated with healthcare facilities,” the jury also noted.

“In addition to being one of the first healthcare facilities to apply for the new 5-star Greenstar healthcare tool, a highly insulated facade with carefully controlled day lighting has been employed in a fully demountable cladding system allowing for projected expansions of the facility and minimised maintenance requirements.

“The rigid technical and healthcare demands on the building services have been balanced with lower use energy systems while indoor air quality is boosted by low off-gassing materials and the substitution of standard vinyl flooring for polished concrete in patient areas.

“The storm water collection and re-use area is also proudly on display to building users near the entry and completes a highly resolved level of detailing to what could have been a largely institutional building,” the jury said.

Sustainability commendations went to Oxigen Halifax Studio, Oxigen and the Beulah Park Extension, Scholz Vinall Design.

The awards, which received a record 101 entries across 11 categories, were presented on Saturday, 7 July.

Awards director Danielle O’Dea, said the jury process was subjective and decisions were left in the capable hands of experienced peers.

Other winners included:

The Jack McConnell Award for Public Architecture
Materials and Minerals Science Learning and Research Building and The Plasso –
John Wardle Architects in association with Swanbury Penglase Architects

Public Architecture – Architecture Award
Wilderness School Michell Music Centre – Tridente Architects

Public Architecture – Architecture Award
Cardijn College Language Learning Centre -Tridente Architects

The John S Chappel Award for Residential Architecture, Houses
Norwood House, Dimitty Andersen Architects

Residential Architecture – Architecture Award
Unley Residence – Con Bastiras Architect

Residential Architecture – Architecture Award
Creek Chic – Troppo Architects

The Newell Platten Award for Multiple Housing
Lochiel Park Affordable Apartments – Greenway Architects (SA) P/L – Concept by Phillips/Pilkington Architects

The Keith Neighbour Award for Commercial Architecture
Adelaide Studios, Grieve Gillett Pty Ltd

The Robert Dickson Award for Interior Architecture
Oxigen Halifax Studio – Oxigen with Woods Bagot

The Gavin Walkley Award for Urban Design
Belair National Park Redevelopment – Shannon Architects

Small Project Architecture – Architecture Award
Beulah Park Extension – Scholz Vinall Design

Small Project Architecture – Architecture Award
Folding Rundle – Sean Humphries Architect and Sasha Radjenovich Architect

The David Saunders Award for Heritage
Museum of Economic Botany Conservation Works – Grieve Gillett Pty Ltd

Archicentre Renovation Award
Bloodstone Studio – John Adam Architect

Folding Rundle – Sean Humphries Architect + Sasha Radjenovich Architect

COLORBOND Award for Steel Architecture
Oxigen Halifax Studio, Oxigen