Mike Rann

28 May 2012 – Former South Australian premier Mike Rann has been appointed to the board of Low Carbon Australia Ltd and will  formally be elected its chairman in June.

Anthea Harris, currently a chief advisor for the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, has also been appointed chief executive officer of the new Climate Change Authority.

Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Greg Combet said: “As Premier of South Australia, Mike Rann championed innovation in the renewable energy sector including wind, hot rock, and solar power.”

At LCAL Mr Rann will lead a series of partnerships and initiatives to foster  energy efficiency opportunities through partnerships with business.

Other board members are Martijn Wilder, Linda Nicholls, Tanya Cox, Don Matthews and Anthony Coleman.

Mr Rann is a member of the International Leadership Council, The Climate Group (UK) and the International Advisory Board, Ecological Sequestration Trust (UK).

The Climate Change Authority will be an independent statutory authority based in Melbourne with Mr Bernie Fraser as chair.