Felicity-ann Lewis

15 November 2012 — The Australian Local Government Association has elected Felicity-ann Lewis as president for the next two years at its annual general meeting in Hobart.

Mayor of Marion in South Australia, she has been serving in the president’s role since the previous president, and former Mayor of North Sydney, Genia McCaffery, retired from local government in September this year.

Mayor Lewis has been a member of the ALGA board since 2009 and served as vice president between 2010 and 2012.

She is Marion’s longest serving Mayor of more than 10 years.

Mayor Lewis said her priorities was championing ALGA’s case to have local government recognised in the Australian Constitution and ensuring councils received sufficient funding as a result of the federal government’s planned review of the Financial Assistance Grants .

“The whole question of adequate and certain federal funding for local services is of great concern to councils and communities alike,” Mayor Lewis said.

“As ALGA President, I am also looking forward to continuing to promote better alignment of all three levels of government, especially in areas such as infrastructure and planning, which rely on place-based solutions.

“Meaningful partnerships between the levels of government can only improve the quality of government decision-making for all Australians, and confidence in elected representatives.”