22 June 2012 – Former business lobbyist and now Reserve Bank member Heather Ridout and climate author and green agitator Clive Hamilton will be part of a hugely diverse mix on the newly announced board of the Climate Change Authority announced yesterday (Thursday.

The full list of members is:

  • Lynne Williams – Dr Williams has worked as an economist in the public sector for over 30 years. She was Under Secretary for the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance and prior to this appointment was Deputy Secretary, Economic and Financial Policy in DTF. Dr Williams is now working as an economic consultant, having left full-time employment in May 2011. She has held positions at the Productivity Commission, the Bureau of Labour Market Research and the Bureau of Immigration, Multicultural and Population Research.
  • John Marlay – Mr Marlay is a non-executive director of Incitec Pivot Limited, Boral Limited, Alesco Corporation Ltd and Cardno Ltd. Mr Marlay is also the independent chairman of Tomago Aluminium Company and was chief executive officer and managing director of Alumina Ltd to 2008. He has also held positions with Esso, James Hardie and Pioneer International.
  • Professor David Karoly – Professor Karoly is Professor of Climate Science in the University of Melbourne’s School of Earth Sciences.
  • Heather Ridout – Ms Ridout is a board member of the Reserve Bank of Australia and recently retired chief executive of the Australian Industry Group.
  • Professor Clive Hamilton – Professor Hamilton holds the Vice-Chancellor’s chair and is Professor of Public Ethics at the Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, Charles Sturt University. For 14 years, he was the executive director of The Australia Institute
  • Elana Rubin – Ms Rubin is the Chair of AustralianSuper, one of the largest industry superannuation funds in Australia, with over 1.8 million members, $42 billion in assets and over 160,000 employers.
  • Professor John Quiggin – Professor Quiggin is Hinkley Visiting Professor at Johns Hopkins University and an Australian Research Council Federation fellow at the University of Queensland.