Duncan Waddell

4 July 2013 —The winners of the fourth annual Global FM Awards for Excellence in Facilities Management have been announced.

The 2013 winner of the Platinum Award of Excellence in FM went to Ken Fletcher from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory’s Facilities Division.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory is a leading research centre for environmental studies, nanoscience, quantitative biology, physics and nuclear energy, consisting of 107 buildings across 203 acres.

Its Facilities Division developed an effective and efficient way to critically evaluate facility sustainability and identify cost-effective measures to support their ability to meet government sustainability mandate requirements.

The Gold Award of Excellence in FM was awarded to Maurício Canto Savassa from Jones Lang LaSalle for a water resuse project which involved effluent treatment of the World Trade Centre of São Paulo in Brazil.

Jones Lang LaSalle, led by Maurício Canto Savassa, started a partnership with General Water to develop a water recycling system for the World Trade Centre of São Paulo, the largest multi-use complex in Latin America.

It recycles about eight million litres of water a month, an amount equivalent to 4.2 per cent of the total water for reuse supplied by the public utility in São Paulo state. The project is one of the pioneers in the country for dealing with the reuse of sanitary effluent.

Meanwhile the Silver Award of Excellence in FM went to Nicolas Cugier and Thierry Berthomieu of the Thales Group which implemented an 18-month project to improve the consistency of the FM strategy within the company.

Thales has a long history of FM externalisation and is faced with a range of efficiency challenges in a very competitive market, including 1.3 million square meters across 115 sites worldwide and 68,000 headcount.

Thales successfully tackled the situation by implementing the 18-month project.

Global FM chair Duncan Waddell said this year’s recipients clearly demonstrated the value of their innovations and improvements through sustainable outcomes.

Other submissions included:

  • Athié Wohnrath, Athié Wohnrath
  • Thiago Santana, ISS Facility Services A/S
  • Ilham El Ouazzani (Saguez Workstyle), LINKEDBYNET (with SAGUEZ WORKSTYLE)
  • Richard Bettinson, BAE
  • Jon Barnes, PwC with MITIE, Honeywell and ARAMARK
  • Anthony Bates, G3 Systems
  • Jane Spellacy, Brookfield Johnson Controls
  • Beck Otto, K&H Bank
  • Gábor Décsi, Dome Facility Services Group
  • Landi Gábor, STRABAG Property and Facility Services Hungary
  • C. Odgers, Absa
  • Winston O. Boikhutso, Maxima Global Facilities Managers

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.